Here are my switches for week 2 (they’re also on my blog here)

Switch using Conductive and Resistive Ink (Switch from Class)

Conductive Ink

Conductive Ink

Conductive Ink

Using both conductive ink and resistive ink, I created a circuit. I then used a piece of conductive thread connected to the battery to complete the circuit.  The thread can either be placed before or after the resistive ink, causing the light to be more or less bright.

Materials used:  Conductive tape, masking tape, 3v battery, conductive thread, resistive ink, conductive ink, led, clear tape

Switch Exercise (for Class Library)

Switch Exercise

Switch Exercise

I created a circuit with conductive thread and conductive fabric.  The piece of paper folds, when it is folded down the switch closes the circuit, when the paper is folded up, the circuit is open.

Materials Used: 3v Battery, Conductive thread, conductive material, led, clear tape

Butterfly Switch (2nd Switch Exercise)

Butterfly

Butterfly

With this switch, I cut out a butterfly out of paper.  I then folded it down the middle.  I glued two small pieces of conductive fabric on the inside of the butterfly, towards the fold.  I then glued a led in the fold so that the twi legs of the led would touch the conductive material when folded.  I glued in a battery, and used conductive thread to connect the battery to the two small pieces of conductive fabric.  When the butterfly is squeezed (or flaps its wings) it lights up.

Materials Used: 3v Battery, led, conductive thread, conductive fabric, super glue, clear tape

Pop Up Slide Switch (Pop Up Book Exercise)

Pop Up Slide

Pop Up Slide

I used a slide pull example from the book The Elements of Pop-Up.  I a piece of conductive fabric on a folded piece of the slide.  When the slide is not pulled out, the fabric rests against paper, when the slide is pulled out, the fabric rests against the battery, completing the inner circuit which lights up the led.

Materials Used: 3v Battery, Paper, Micron Pen, Conductive Fabric, Conductive Thread, Clear Tape

